Theologyology
Theologyology
Theologyology Podcast Ep 3
2
0:00
-1:13:07

Theologyology Podcast Ep 3

It's About TIme
2

(This was originally published at

and is being reposted as we migrate our episodes to this space.)

Episode 3! This time,

Elise Keller

and I talk about time, God’s “outside of time-ness”, and we discuss a question from our friend

about why we are even interested in eternal life.

Show Notes (things we mentioned that we want to share:

  • Surprised by Hope, by N.T. Wright

  • Leaf by Niggle, JRR Tolkien

  • Here are a couple examples of the visualization of spacetime curvature that occurs as a result of gravity that I mentioned in the episode, plus a resource to learn more about quantum gravity, if my sub-par explanation piqued your interest. The first one does a great job of illustrating how mass increases the curvature, but the second one does a better job of showing what this “looks” like in a 3D plane.

Courtesy of the European Space Agency https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Images/2015/09/Spacetime_curvature

Courtesy of CHRISTOPHER VITALE OF NETWORKOLOGIES AND THE PRATT INSTITUTE

  • I referenced a quote from Mark Twain while talking about relativity. Go figure, that quote was actually from Einstein which…makes sense a lot more when you think about it. I do think I would have gotten the speaker right if I had remembered the last sentence. Alas. When I mentioned this to my mom because I thought it was funny, she perfectly captured what was going on in my head. She said “I get it, they’re played by the same actor.” And she meant in our minds. lol. Anyway, the actual quote is:

“Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute. THAT'S relativity."

  • We referenced Matthew 10:28:

28 Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell. Matthew 10:28

  • I mentioned the Kundalini Yoga cult, 3HO, but there are a ton of sources online, and I don’t want to take the responsibility of vetting them, so proceed with caution. There are well-publicized accounts of abuse from the organization and against the leader of the cult.

  • Of course, we can’t forget to share Elise’s Easter bread! Here’s a picture and the recipe she used. Yummy.

The video of this recording is also available here!

We hope you have a blessed Easter tomorrow! I know I’m seeing it with new eyes this year. Have a question for us to discuss, or a topic you think we should do a deep dive on? Please let us know in the comments. Thanks for listening!

Love,

Elizabeth and Elise

2 Comments
Theologyology
Theologyology
We talk about theology, but we aren't theologians. We are here for discussions and thought experiments with occasional conclusions, but mostly we marvel at the complexity and mystery of the triune God.